Fiddlehead Fashion: A Walk In The Park

far walking - brighten, vibrance

The past couple weeks have been sprinkled with some of the most glorious weather I could hope for during July in the Midwest. It’s been nice and cool, overcast and even a bit rainy. Just the way I like it.  Sunshine is wonderful, I just prefer it in the 70s instead of 90s!

shoulder - brighten, vibrance

A few days ago I stopped by Phelps Grove park on my way home.  It is such a lovely gem of greenery in the middle of town and right by Springfield’s only art museum. I would say it’s my favorite park but that might just be because it’s the closest so I’m there often. There is another that comes to mind with lovely gardens, a pond, and a butterfly house so now that I think about it I’m realizing I don’t need to compare parks as much as I need to enjoy them and appreciate the variety they offer.

close walking - brighten, vibrance

I had my violin with me and thought I’d do a bit of playing in the wide open air. There is something magical about playing out of doors, really there is. A gorgeous concert hall is a beautifully intimate setting for sharing art and common experiences, and I do love being part of a group that can accomplish powerful things I can’t on my own. But at times I want to breathe in fresh air and enjoy more than just the notes I’m playing and the space I’m playing them in.  A change of scenery can be exciting from time to time.

playing - brighten, vibrance

So go spend some time outside and play some music! It makes you feel connected to the world in so many ways; alive and participating with nature, just one of so many creatures making beautiful music for anyone and everyone to enjoy. I love the feeling of wind rustling through my hair, carrying sounds from my instrument to places I will never go.  Happy music making!

holding side - brighten, vibrance

playing smiling - brighten, vibrance

Leave a comment